While there is tea, there is hope

Sodas can have some serious negative effects on your body when consumed regularly and I really want to take steps to a healthier lifestyle. So far I’m succeeding at weaning soda out of my diet and I’ll tell you why…

I treat myself to tea.

I think we all like to be treated to something special. When I would bring a soda or an energy drink to work I felt like it was a special treat to myself; a pick-me-up for the long work day. When I realized how much sugar was in these products (in addition to the caffeine) and I saw the affect this had on my health, I made the conscious decision to reduce my intake.

Now, instead of bringing sodas or energy drinks to work I brew myself my own cup of green tea every morning with a spoonful of local honey or light agave nectar. It’s healthier, cheaper and with enough caffeine (you can also get decaffeinated) to brighten your day. If it’s too hot for hot tea, brew the tea the night before, add the honey or nectar and let it chill overnight in the refrigerator. Add ice and voila! Iced green tea!

Plain tea can be a healthful, calorie-free beverage, but be careful how much cream, sugar, and flavorings you add into your cup, add too many and your once-healthful drink becomes a rich dessert. I favor natural honey because unlike processed sugar and artificial sweeteners, honey is antioxidant rich and used sparingly, can take the edge off your tea.

Studies suggest green tea has many potential benefits, including but not limited to improving mental function, weightloss, and lowering the risk of cancer, heart disease and inflammation. I’ve included a helpful infographic below that illustrates the different varieties of tea and their many benefits.

There are many varieties of tea out there, and each one is delicious and beneficial in it’s own way. I haven’t been able to try them all yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

teasandtisanes

Leave a Reply

